Compare Ohio Car Insurance Quotes – Fast, Free & Easy

Every state has their own laws regarding the minimum levels of insurance coverage required for drivers. Presently, Ohio requires that drivers carry bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance. They require the following limits: $7,500 for property damage and $12,500 worth of bodily injury per person to a maximum of $25,000 per accident.

However, you should keep in mind that this is the bare minimum required by state. Many drivers opt for additional coverage options. A popular choice is collision and comprehensive, because it protects your car against damages. You pay up to a deductible and the insurance company then kicks in and pays up to the fair market value of your car.

Ohio SR-22 Car Insurance Requirements

SR22 documents are proof that you are complying with the law and have the minimum auto insurance coverage required by state. Generally, you need to file them in order to reinstate a license. So, SR22’s are mostly just important for people who have had their driving privileges revoked. Ohio is a state that requires SR22 documents to reinstate licenses, although some don’t.

Ohio Laws for DUI/DWI Drivers

In Ohio, you’re considered Operating a Vehicle Intoxicated (OVI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. If you’re stopped while OVI, you could face the following penalties:
First Offense

  • Imprisonment (3 days – 6 months) OR
  • Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
  • Imprisonment (6 days if your BAC is above 0.17%)
  • License Suspension (6 months – 3 years)
  • Fine ($250-1000)
  • Reinstatement fee ($450)

Second Offense

  • Imprisonment (10 days or 20 days if BAC is above 0.17%)
  • Driver Intervention Program (90 days)
  • License Suspension (1-5 years)
  • Fine ($350-1500)
  • Reinstatement fee ($450)
  • Electronic Home Monitoring (18 days – 6 months)
  • Vehicle Immobilization (90 days)

Third Offense

  • Imprisonment (30 days – 1 year) OR
  • Imprisonment (15 days in addition to 55 days – 1 year of electronic home monitoring)
  • Imprisonment (60 days if BAC is above 0.17%)
  • Driver Intervention Program (90 days)
  • License Suspension (1-10 years)
  • Fine ($350 – 1500)
  • Reinstatement fee ($450)
  • Vehicle Immobilization (180 days)
  • Alcohol Abuse Program (Mandatory)

Fourth Offense

  • Imprisonment (60 days – 1 year)
  • License Suspension (3 years – permanent)
  • Fine ($800 – 10,000)
  • Reinstatement fee ($450)
  • Convicted Felony
  • Mandatory Vehicle Forfeiture
  • Alcohol Abuse Program (Mandatory)

If you’re pulled over in Ohio by an officer of the law for suspected OVI, implied consent law states that your license will be suspended up to a year if you refuse chemical testing. Consequences for future refusals will get your license suspended again and for a longer period of time.

Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Currently there is no ban on using a cellphone while driving or texting while driving for any drivers. Compare Ohio car insurance quotes online.

Ohio State Facts
State of Ohio Wiki
U.S. Census Bureau (Ohio Quick Facts)