Every state has its own rules and regulations regarding the minimum level of auto insurance coverage drivers need to carry. No-fault insurance refers to a type of insurance similar to bodily injury liability called Personal Injury Protection. Currently, the State of Ohio does not require this kind of coverage.
What Affects Your Car Insurance in Ohio?
Generally, drivers who are at fault will pay for any and all damages. The State of Ohio does require bodily injury liability and property damage liability. It currently requires $12,500 bodily injury coverage per injured person to a maximum of $25,000 per accident. In addition, it also requires $7,500 in property damages. Please be advised that these are the minimum levels of coverage required by state, and that many drivers opt for additional coverage options.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is similar to bodily injury in that it covers people for medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages. However, it differs because it covers you, the policyholder, regardless of who is at fault. Once again, you’re not required to have it by law.
Ohio Teen Insurance – Driving Rules, Requirements & Drivers License
Many states have a GDL program or Graduated Drive Licensing system. This is aimed at inexperienced teens who want to become drivers. It gives them base privileges and increases the level of privileges as they gain more experience. It is geared towards reducing the amount of accidents caused by inexperienced teens.
The following are requirements for different kinds of licenses:
Temporary Instruction Permit
- Age (15 years minimum)
- Classroom Instruction (24 hours minimum)
- Behind the Wheel Practice (50 hours minimum, 10 of which need to be at night)
- Social Security Number
- Proof of identity and age
- Written consent of parent who must present two forms of ID
- Maintain permit for 6 months prior to taking the Ohio driver license skills exam
Probationary Driver License:
- Age (17 years minimum)
- Documents (All documents as with Temporary Instruction Permit)
- Provide 5 hour affidavit
- Successfully pass road skills, vision, and written exam
- Meet all the requirements for the Temporary Instruction Permit
The following restrictions may apply to these licenses:
- Drivers with the permit must have parents accompany them in the front seat always.
- At the age of 16, teens can drive with any licensed driver above the age of 21
- Curfew: Teens under 18 can’t drive between the hours of midnight and 6 AM unless they are driving with a parent
- Teens under 17 can’t drive with more than one person in the car unless it’s immediate family members.
- Curfew: Probationary drivers between 17-18 can’t operate cars between 1 AM – 5 AM unless they’re supervised by a parent unless they’re going to and from work, emergency situations, or school
- Drivers 17 and under who have moving violations during their first 6 months of driving will require a parent to accompany them for the following six months from their conviction OR until they turn 17 (Whichever is first)
Find car insurance Columbus Ohio – free quotes.Ohio State Facts
State of Ohio Wiki
U.S. Census Bureau (Ohio Quick Facts)