Ohio, like all states, has laws regarding the minimum levels of auto insurance coverage drivers are required to have. Currently, it’s illegal to drive without having proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility. Please be advised that it’s also illegal to allow anyone else to drive your car without proof of financial responsibility.
Ohio Car Insurance Laws and Requirements
In order to comply with these requirements, drivers need to get a bond or maintain insurance coverage. Failure to have sufficient insurance or carry proof of it can result in the following penalties:
• First offense: 90 day license suspension
• Second Offense: 1 year license suspension
• Additional Offenses: 2 year license suspension
• License plate & registration loss
• Car impounding or sale
• License revocation
• High-risk insurance requirement (up to 5 years)
• Reinstatement fees ($75-500)
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
The minimum bodily injury liability limits for the State of Ohio are: $12,500 bodily injury per person to a maximum of $25,000 per accident. In addition, they also require property damage liability limits of 7,500.
However, bear in mind that these are only the minimum levels of coverage, and that many drivers often have additional coverage. A common thing on any policy is collision and comprehensive, which protects your own car against damages. You pay up to a predetermined deductible, and the insurer will assess damages and pay up to the fair market value of your car.
UM/UIM Auto Insurance Coverage in OH
Currently the State of Ohio does not require this kind of coverage. However, it is helpful. As the name suggests, this kind of insurance will insure you in the event that you’re hit by a driver that doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance.
Ohio doesn’t currently require drivers to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP). It is not considered a no-fault state. Personal Injury Protection functions similarly to bodily injury liability insurance in that it covers medical expenses, lost wages and other damages. However, PIP covers you, the policyholder regardless of fault.
Although some states don’t require an SR22 filing to reinstate a license, Ohio does require it. SR22 documents provide proof that you’re complying with state law and have the minimum levels of car insurance as required. However, typically the only people who need to file one are those that have lost their driving privileges and are looking to reinstate them.
Ohio has OVI (Operating a Vehicle Intoxicated) laws that are similar to DUI (Driving Under the Influence) laws in other states. If you’re stopped by an officer while you’re OVI, you could face the following penalties:
- Imprisonment (3 days – 6 months) OR
- Driver intervention program (3 days)
- Fine ($250-1000)
- Reinstatement Fee ($450)
- License Suspension (6 months – 3 years)
- Mandatory 6 day Imprisonment if BAC (Blood alcohol content) is 0.17% and higher
If you require additional information please visit the Ohio Department of Insurance online at www.insurance.ohio.gov or call them at 614-644-2658.Ohio State Facts
State of Ohio Wiki
U.S. Census Bureau (Ohio Quick Facts)